Hegel and Kierkegaard on what it means to be Christian

I posted a new essay to my academia page: “On Being Christian: Hegel and Kierkegaard on Faith, Reason and the Will.” Here’s the abstract:

I examine Hegel’s narrative of world history, paying particular attention to the role he gives to Christianity, and try to determine what, if anything, Hegel’s narrative might say about what he thinks it means to be a Christian. Then I review Kierkegaard’s critique of Hegel and his own exploration of what it means to be a Christian. In the conclusion bring into sharper focus where the conflict between Hegel and Kierkegaard really lies, by locating it on the map of systematic theology. Finally I draw out some of the pastoral implications of each view.

You can read the rest here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment