The Soteriology Chronicles: Beginning

This year I’m doing some reading in soteriology, the Christian doctrine of salvation. This is one of the areas in theology that I have not done nearly enough reading, and it has become apparent through recent conversations with friends just how anemic my picture of salvation is. So, 2011 will be for me like a course in soteriology. In January I asked all of the best theological minds I know for book recommendations. I chose the top ten based on frequency of recommendations and the specifics of my own interest, and I will read one a month (following the order in which they are listed below) beginning today, Feb. 1st. Then, in December, I hope to write an essay chronicling what I’ve learned. But reading alone does not make for a class: it requires the exchange of ideas.

That’s where you come in! I’ve already solicited Wanda Childs, my pastor and author of the famous theologoholic series Sunday Homilies with Pastor Wanda, to read along with me and engage in conversation as we go. From time to time, I’ll be posting our conversation here under the heading The Soteriology Chronicles. We’d love for you to join in as well! You can read as many or as few of the books as you’d like, or you can just be a part of the email chain. Even if you aren’t reading the books you may have an insight or a question that will steer the conversation in a new direction. So, if you’re interested in being part of this conversation please let me know by commenting on this post, or by emailing me at jdsmith2000@hotmail.com.

The Readings

  1. The Nature of Atonement: Four Views, edited by James Beilby and Paul R. Eddy
  2. Justification: God’s Plan and Paul’s Vision, by N. T. Wright
  3. How are We Saved? The Understanding of Salvation in the Orthodox Tradition, by Bishop Kallistos Ware
  4. Christus Victor: A Historical Study of the Three Main Types of the Idea of Atonement, by Aulen Gustaf
  5. Why God Became Man, by Anselm
  6. The Freedom of a Christian, by Martin Luther; and selections from The Institutes of Christian Religion, by John Calvin.
  7. Union with Christ: The New Finnish Interpretation of Luther, edited by Carl E. Braaten and Robert W. Jenson
  8. The Beauty of the Infinite: The Aesthetics of Christian Truth, by David Bentley Hart
  9. The Nonviolent Atonement, by J. Denny Weaver
  10. A Community Called Atonement, by Scot McKnight
1 Comment

Filed under Soteriology Chronicles

One response to “The Soteriology Chronicles: Beginning

  1. Pingback: Soteriology Chronicles: On Rob Bell | Theologoholic

Leave a Reply

